1. Welcome! Here you can discuss news, events and everything going on in Leeds. Looking to sign up or log in? Click here!

Help me to save my dog Joe

Discussion in 'Introductions & Celebrations' started by poppet, Apr 30, 2013.

1. poppet

poppet New Member

hello I am new to this but here goes i need all the help i can get to save my 9 year old dog from being taken away from me by the local council. I live in a flat where pets not allowed i have had joe for 9 years he has been with me in my flat for just over 2 years the council have known i have had him but not said anything because he is not a problem. i walk him regularly and clean up his mess. The problem started with tenant below me she got dog 9 months ago and it barks all the time. she was reported now council say i have to get rid of joe too.You might be thinking well I have broken my tenancy agreement and you would be right. But is it right for the council to make me get rid of my dog when they are not enforcing the same tenancy agreement with tenants in the blocks within my surrounding area No it is not they cannot have one rule for one and a rule for another. There are approx 150 tenants living in flats here and approx 70% have pets. Are council not enforcing this rule because they would have a tenants war on their hands? Yes i think so. I have told th BITMO housing i will move to keep my dog have been bidding on properties but they are not giving me time to find a new property. Have to re-move him by 1st may or face eviction from my flat. Can anyone help.
  2. Forum Ad Advertisement

3. Stardust

Stardust Registered User

Sorry I have no idea but hope you get to keep Joe!

Welcome to the site.
  4. thistle

thistle Registered User

Get more information and not info from residents as majority of residents often talk crap
    but see a Lawyer about it and if he cant help he possibly knows someone whom could
    more of a civil case ..but get someone that knows the council rules